Presidents of the United States Postcard Set.

London: Raphael Tuck & Sons, c1905. Postcard series 2328 "Presidents of the United States" with 25 cards for George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, John Quincy Adams, Andrew Jackson, Martin Van Buren, John Tyler, William Henry Harrison, Zachary Taylor, James Polk, Millard Fillmore, Franklin Pierce, James Buchanan, Abraham Lincoln, Andrew Johnson, Ulysses S. Grant, James Garfield, Rutherford B. Hayes, Chester Arthur, Benjamin Harrison, Grover Cleveland, William McKinley and Theodore Roosevelt (who, bio indicates, was serving his second term). Each card front contains an illustration of the president signed L.P. Spinner, reproduction of his signature and brief bio with the dates of his term, and each card back has a brief biographical sketch. The Tuck printing company, founded by Raphael, began publishing postcards in 1899 under the direction of son Adolph, who sponsored a series of postcard collecting competitions in 1900 and 1902 that prompted a craze. Soon after he began issued "limited edition" proof sets for collectors. Each approx. 3 1/2 x 5 1/2" Upper right and lower left corners of most cards has slight indentations. Standard postcard backing, unused, no stamps. Item #17033

Price: $200.00

See all items in POLITICS, POSTCARDS
See all items by