Weatherboard Fall N.S.W.
Melbourne: Hamel & Ferguson, 1867. Print. Plate VII from Eugene von Guérard's Australian Landscapes 1866-68.
A stunning view oin the Blue Mountains, N.S.W. Originally named The Weatherboard, the town was Jamisons Valley in 1815. In July 1867, the first railway journey to the Blue Mountains traveled through to Weatherboard Station, where the train terminated. In 1879, the village took its name from the nearby waterfalls, which had been named for William Charles Wentworth, one of the men that headed the exploration to cross the mountains in 1813 and a friend of John Jamison.
Two men with a rifle are overlooking the falls.
Color lithograph, signed in the plate, with the oval blind stamp for the publisher Hamel & Ferguson below the title. Image incl. text 13 x 19 1/2" on paper 18 x 24 1/2". Archivally cleaned and backed, color tastefully enhanced. Libraries Australia ID 7744602. Item #27482